Her Silent Prayer

Within the United States, one out of every four American women will experience violence by an intimate partner sometime during her lifetime. One out of every six women will be raped during her lifetime.


Domestic violence is both a national and a worldwide crisis. According to a 2000 UNICEF study, 20-50% of the female population of the world will become the victims of domestic violence.

African-American women experience more domestic violence than White women in the age group of 20-24. However, Black and White women experience the same level of victimization in all other age categories.

R&B singer Chris Brown was charged with assaulting his pop-star girlfriend Rihanna here Thursday as gruesome details about the alleged attack emerged for the first time. Read full story: http://tinyurl.com/cuqjxb

bluetears

Her Silent Prayer


I stand and wipe the tears from my eyes

No one knows, no one to realize

The home I live in is not safe

The bruises are hid and not on my face…

The pain inside, I hide so well

No friends for me, no one to tell…

With family away and will never see

For I keep the secret deep inside of me…

Hiding the pain and living a lie

Never complain and try not to cry…

A part of me dies with each new mark

I’m so afraid as I stand in the dark…

No longer can I take the pain

I am not the one to blame….

This love hurts and should not be

God please send an angel for me…

© Copy rite- Mattie (Deaton) Herald 2001

Winner of the “Editors Choice Award” 2001

Book: A Sublime Remembrance” (ISBN: 0-7951-5065-2)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

