Slow Me Down Lord

Slow me down, Lord.

Ease the pounding of my heart by the quieting of my mind. Steady my hurried pace.

Give me, amidst the day’s confusion, the calmness of the everlasting hills.

Break the tensions of my nerves and muscles with the soothing music of singing streams that live in my memory.

Help me to know the magical, restoring power of sleep.

Teach me the art of taking “minute vacations”…slowing down to look at a flower, to chat with a friend, to read a few lines from a good book.

Remind me of the fable of the hare and the tortoise; that the race is not always to the swift; that there is more to life than measuring its speed.

Let me look up at the branches of the towering oak and know that it grew slowly and well. Inspire me to send my own roots down deep into the soil of life’s endearing values…that I may grow toward the stars of my greater destiny.

Slow me down, Lord.

~~Wilfred Arlan Peterson

4 Comments

  1. I love this prayer – it was one of my uncle’s. He also had one which said “Take a cheerful view of everything” and it takes two people to argue. Do you have that one? Please send it to me if you do. Thanks

  2. Could you direct me to the publisher of Slow Me Down Lord?

  3. I found the prayer I was looking for!

    Take a cheerful view of everything.
    Trust in God and mind your own business.
    Pray for a short memory as to forget all unkindness.
    Cultivate forbearance till your heart yields a fine crop of it.
    Give your tongue more holiday than your hands or your eyes.
    Compare your manifold blessings with trifling annoyances of each day.
    Do the duty that lies nearest thee; thy second duty will already have become clearer.
    Be content to do the things you can, and fret not because you cannot do everything.
    Never reply in kind to a sharp or angry word; it is the second word that makes the quarrel.
    Make the best of what you have and do not make yourself miserable by wishing for what you do not have.

  4. Praise be to God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. The Priest at daily Mass today read this prayer as part of his Homily and it was exactly what I needed to hear. The encouragement I prayed for was bestowed on me!. It is a beautiful prayer and I am glad I found it and this site. Thank you and Thanks be to God.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

