Prayer for Expressing Gratitude

This is the day that God has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.
—Psalm 118:24

Morning Prayer: Prayer for Expressing Gratitude

Gracious God, in the busy-ness of my day, I sometimes forget to stop to thank you for all that is good in my life.

My blessings are many and my heart is filled with gratefulness for the gift of living, for the ability to love and be loved, for the opportunity to see the everyday wonders of creation, for sleep and water, for a mind that thinks and a body that feels.

I thank you, too, for those things in my life that are less than I would hope them to be. Things that seem challenging, unfair, or difficult. When my heart feels stretched and empty, and pools of tears form in my weary eyes, still I rejoice that you are as near to me as my next breath and that in the midst of turbulence, I am growing and learning.

In the silence of my soul, I thank you most of all for your unconditional and eternal love.

Amen.

—from Prayers for Living

15 Comments

  1. I’ve been looking online for over an hour for a prayer of gratitude. Some of the pslams are beautiful, but they can be difficult to relate to life today. Most of the others were very flowery and hallmark-ish. Many of them talked about being thankful for sunshine and mountains and meadows – things that I don’t ever see in the city. Then I found your prayer. It speaks to life today. It’s realistic. I can relate to it.

    I’m so glad I found it! Thanks a lot!

  2. thank u!!! I’VE been looking for this in 1:hour good thing i see it in this website, its verry difficult to find this prayer of gratitude who ever made this i’ll just thank u!!! for having this wonderful gratitude I love it so much tnx!!! ^_^

  3. I’d been looking for a prayer of Thanksgiving and found them too rigidly traditional for my family. I changed my search to ‘gratitude prayer’ and found this. What I love most about it is that it was created for everyday use, not just Thanksgiving. Thanks very much!

  4. Simply BEAUTIFUL! I feel like I can literally touch the presence of the almighty spirit simply by reading this gorgeous prayer. Thank you website person and spirit :)

  5. I so appreciate this prayer! It expresses my sentiments exactly. I googled grattitude prayer and yours was at the top of the list! Now I am THANKFUL to have found your prayer! God Bless!!!!!

  6. really nice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. I love this prayer of gratitude and will start my day with it as well as pass it on to family and friends. Gratefully, Pat

  8. I absolutely love this prayer, it speaks to my heart! I was looking for a way to say thank you one thing and for all things, and to feel connected to the one who gives it all. I found it, thank you x

  9. this is so good, ill using it for my achool assembly~!

  10. Wonderfully said! Thanks for sharing your prayer with us. Saying it aloud has revitalized my faith and given me a sense of clarity in what seems to be the darkest period I have ever faced. I have been made physically, emotionally, and spiritually sound by His grace to overcome this and future obstacles with Him as my guide. Thanks again!

  11. Tonight in my heart felt that I need to find a gratitude prayer to comfort my soul,and to thank God for what I living at this time of my life, is not easy but I understand now that everything has a purpose now I know that he can help me …I only need to ask he will provide Thank for what I have and the life I live. It touched my heart, this is a lovable prayer .Thank you God to guide me and thank you who ever wrote it and whoever allowed me to read it.Thank you and God bless…

  12. thank you I just HAD TO repost, be all the Glory to God, but thank you for being a willing vessel.

    your character speaks of many moments spent in God’s presence.

    Thank YOU.

  13. This touched me so deeply. Sometimes when I’m feeling low, like nothing is going right, I need to be reminded of just how blessed I am. I passed this on to someone else who could benefit from an “attitude of gratitude” – I’m sure he will appreciate it as well. Thank you God for passing these sacred words for both of us to appreciate.

  14. REALLY FANTASTIC , NO WORDS , SPELL BOUND.

  15. Just woke up and heard about the Tsunami in Japan….Dear Lord hear our prayers for the people of Japan, Hawaii and our west coast. Looked for words of expressing gratitude and found these words…I also passed them to many friends to remind us that its not what we have, its what we do with what we have….


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.